Series of 18 Video Banners for the Guild of Heroes Advertising Campaign

We make video clips about games at Alconost. Teasers and trailers usually appear on applications’ App Store and Google Play pages, and cut-scenes introduce gameplay. In winter 2018 we dealt with a task on a larger scale: we created a series of 18 video banners designed to attract game traffic on banner-based advertising networks such as Facebook.

The game for which we created this series of banners was Guild of Heroes. It’s a fantasy RPG developed by BIT.GAMES. Playing as a warrior, archer, or wizard, the player demonstrates their superiority in battles with monsters and skirmishes with other players, completes quests, crafts items and equipment, and teams up with other players.

Guild of Heroes

Marketing support was provided to BIT.GAMES by the Mail.Ru Games Ventures venture capital fund.

Initial Conditions and Technical Requirements

We decided to show all three classes – warrior, archer, and wizard – in the banner series. We chose a female character to be the model.

According to the client's experience, square and vertical video formats look good in ad campaigns on Facebook, and the classic horizontal format looks better on other advertising networks. We therefore had to make three versions of every banner: a standard Full HD version (landscape orientation), a vertical Full HD version (portrait orientation), and a square 1080x1080 version. In addition to the 30-second clips, we also needed shortened versions with a maximum length of 15 seconds.

We therefore had to make six videos of various lengths and sizes with a character from each class.

The Script

For the short versions we decided to show the character's evolution by emphasizing changes to her equipment – from basic equipment, to more interesting gear, to the most advanced kit in the game. We added gameplay excerpts to the long versions in order to show not only equipped models, but also real gameplay with locations and monsters. A lead-out with the game's logo was also added to the long version.

Materials Provided by the Client

The client made sure to provide us with complete and workable content that we could use to bring our scripts to life. The materials provided by the client included 3D models of the character and her equipment, the model's core movement animations, and some art assets from the game.

The client also prepared gameplay footage – about ten minutes of gameplay with a character from each class. We had to select the most telling moments from combat – about 20 seconds for each character.

Workflow

We chose the character’s most interesting core animations and equipped her to match the gear she was wielding in the capture footage. The equipment became the link between scenes of different types, i.e. the “model” and “gameplay” scenes

We knew beforehand that we were going to have to make vertical versions of the clips. This meant that we had to find a way to fit horizontal capture footage into a vertical video. Without zooming in and cropping the gameplay inserts would take up too small a percentage of the viewing area and look bad on mobile devices. For this reason we initially selected gameplay fragments in which events took place in the middle of the screen and the character did not move quickly across the location and out of the shot even if it was cropped significantly on the left and right.

Active production began in mid-December. In order to make sure the client could launch the ad campaign over the holiday break we had to finish work on at least one of the banners before New Year’s Eve. The first video (character equipped as a warrior, square shape, short version) was completed and accepted by the client late at night on December 29th. Despite the tight deadline, we enhanced the short version of the video with an elegant solution: we added a phase where level 50 equipment transformed into level 1 equipment, which allowed the video to cycle seamlessly. We went on to use this technique in all of the short clips in the series.

We didn’t stop working over the holiday break. We cranked out one banner after another without forgetting the details. For example, we chose the following sequence of color palettes for the background and borders for gameplay featuring the warrior character: yellow-green, warm lilac, and cool navy blue. For the archer and wizard characters we changed the sequence of the surrounding coloration so the palette of objects in the background would meld harmoniously with each class’s equipment.

The Results

Here’s how the banners from the series ended up — these are the ones where the models are accompanied by gameplay:

And here's how the short versions look — these are the ones with seamless cycling:

The banners were added to the advertising campaign as they were completed. Since the speed at which the campaign was updated was synchronized with the pace of production, the content for the ad campaign was updated on a regular basis.

Alconost would like to thank the Guild of Heroes team for providing high-quality finished materials and quick and substantial feedback even over the holiday break.

Other success stories

We help companies take their products to the global market by localizing applications, games, websites, translating texts and making promo videos. We’d be happy to get a chance to work with you!

Request a quote

Серия из 18 видеобаннеров для рекламной кампании игры Guild of Heroes

Мы в Alconost делаем ролики об играх. Тизеры и трейлеры обычно размещаются на страницах приложений в App Store и Google Play, а кат-сцены предваряют игровой процесс. Зимой 2018 года мы решили задачу нового масштаба: создали серию из 18 видеобаннеров, предназначенных для закупки игрового трафика в баннерных рекламных сетях, в частности на Facebook.

Игра, для которой создавалась серия баннеров, — Guild of Heroes. Это RPG с фэнтезийным сеттингом, разработанная студией BIT.GAMES. Играя за воина, стрелка или мага, пользователь доказывает свое превосходство в схватках с монстрами и в битвах с другими героями, выполняет задания, занимается крафтингом и объединяется с другими игроками.

Guild of Heroes

Маркетинговую поддержку студии BIT.GAMES оказывает венчурный фонд Mail.Ru Games Ventures.

Какими были стартовые вводные и технические требования

В серии баннеров мы решили показать все три класса: воина, стрелка и мага. В качестве модели был выбран женский персонаж.

По опыту клиента, квадратный и вертикальный форматы роликов хорошо показывают себя в рекламных кампаниях на Facebook, а для других рекламных сетей лучше подходит классический горизонтальный формат. Поэтому каждый баннер нужно было сделать в трёх вариациях: стандартный FullHD (ландшафтная ориентация), вертикальный FullHD (портретная ориентация) и квадратный вариант 1080х1080 px. Помимо этого, в дополнение к 30-секундным роликам требовались сокращённые варианты: до 15 секунд каждый.

Таким образом, с персонажем каждого класса необходимо было создать шесть роликов, отличающихся длительностью и параметрами высоты и ширины.

Каким было сценарное решение

В коротких версиях было решено показать эволюцию героини, которая подчеркивалась бы сменой экипировки: от базовой к более интересной и до самой продвинутой. Длинные версии решили дополнить геймплейными перебивками, чтобы показать не только экипированные модели, но и реальный игровой процесс с его локациями и монстрами. Также длинная версия дополнялась закрывающей заставкой с логотипом приложения.

Какие материалы предоставил клиент

Клиент позаботился о том, чтобы предоставить нам полный и пригодный для работы исходный контент, на базе которого возможно реализовать сценарные решения. В частности, клиент предоставил нам 3D-модели героини и её экипировки, базовые анимации движений модели и некоторый игровой арт.

Помимо этого, клиент подготовил видеозахваты геймплея: около 10 минут игрового процесса с персонажем каждого класса. Из них нам нужно было отобрать наиболее показательные боевые моменты: приблизительно по 20 секунд для каждого героя.

Как шел рабочий процесс

Мы выбрали наиболее интересные базовые анимации героини и экипировали её в соответствии с обмундированием, в котором она представлена на видеозахватах. Экипировка стала связующим звеном между сценами разных типов: «модельными» и «геймплейными».

Мы заранее знали, что нам предстоит сделать вертикальные варианты роликов. Это означало, что нужно будет найти решение: как вписать горизонтальный видеозахват в вертикальное видео Без кадрирования геймплейные вставки в вертикальном ролике занимали бы слишком маленький процент площади кадра и плохо смотрелись бы на мобильном устройстве. Поэтому мы изначально отбирали такие фрагменты геймплея, в которых игровые события происходили в центральной области, а быстро передвигающаяся по локации героиня не выходила из кадра, даже если он ощутимо подрезан слева и справа.

Активная стадия производства началась в середине декабря. Чтобы клиент мог запустить рекламную кампанию на новогодних каникулах, мы должны были закончить работу хотя бы над одним из баннеров до Нового года. Первый ролик — героиня в экипировке воина, квадратный вариант, короткая версия — был сдан нами и принят клиентом поздним вечером 29 декабря. Несмотря на сжатые сроки, мы украсили короткую версию ролика изящным решением: добавили стадию превращения из экипировки 50-го уровня в экипировку 1-го уровня, чтобы видео зацикливалось бесшовно. Этот прием мы далее использовали во всех коротких роликах серии.

На новогодних праздниках работа не прекращалась. Мы «выпекали» баннеры один за другим, не забывая о мелочах. Например, для героини-воина мы выбрали такую последовательность цветовой гаммы бэкграунда и рамки для геймплея: желто-зеленый, теплый сиреневый, холодный синий. Для героини в образе стрелка и мага мы меняли порядок колеровки окружения, чтобы цветовая гамма объектов второго плана гармонично сочеталась с экипировкой героини каждого класса.

Что получилось в результате

Вот так выглядят длинные баннеры серии — те, в которых модели сочетаются с геймплеем:

А вот так выглядят короткие версии — те, в которых сделано бесшовное зацикливание:

Баннеры добавлялись в рекламную кампанию по мере их готовности. Благодаря тому, что скорость обновления кампании была синхронизирована с темпом производства, контент рекламной кампании постоянно обновлялся.

Alconost благодарит команду Guild of Heroes за предоставление качественных исходных материалов и за быстрые и содержательные отклики даже в выходные и в праздники.

Другие истории успеха

Мы помогаем компаниям выводить продукты на глобальный рынок: локализуем приложения, игры, сайты, переводим тексты на иностранные языки и делаем видеоролики. Мы бы хотели помогать и вам!

Сделать заказ

In other languages