Voiceovers in 14 languages for the Kerish Doctor software

The team here at Alconost recorded multilingual voiceovers for the Kerish Doctor software. To complete the project we chose professional voiceover artists who are native speakers of 12 different languages.

Kerish Doctor is designed to service Windows machines: it helps prevent OS crashes, fix registry errors, remove potential vulnerabilities, and clear the system of digital garbage. Kerish Doctor informs the user using voice notifications about certain actions, such as when a file is restored or vulnerabilities are detected.

The client independently recorded notifications for the Russian and Ukrainian versions of the program. But he delegated the task of recording notifications for the remaining 14 language versions to us.

The client chose voices from our voiceover artist database for Spanish and English. These are artists with who we work on a continuing basis to create voiceovers for videos and other recording projects. For the remaining 12 languages we had to recruit a dozen new voiceover artists for our database.

By the way, a voiceover artist is not simply a person with a microphone. This person is a professional narrator or voice actor who is a native speaker of the language in question, speaks with correct diction, owns the appropriate equipment, and maintains proper conditions to produce quality sound recordings.

We approached the task of finding new voiceover artists enthusiastically. First, we chose voices that met the customer's wishes in terms of their timbre and manner of speech. Then we provided demo recordings to our native speaker translators to review to make sure that the speakers spoke without an accent and had no pronunciation problems.

Having sent us texts in all 14 languages, the client requested that we direct the voiceover artists to use correct grammar, speak in complete sentences, and pay attention to correct word order when making recordings. Although text editing (proofreading) is provided as a separate service at Alconost, we were happy to accommodate the client's wishes and were able to include this service without increasing the project budget.

After we finished proofreading 4 out of the 14 languages, we proposed several alternatives for phrases that sounded more natural in the context of the assignment for the client to review. The client was given several options to choose from: a recording of the original text and a recording of the text with our edits.

Project facts and figures:

  • Languages: 14 (English, Hungarian, Danish, Spanish, Italian, German, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Slovenian, Turkish, Finnish, French, and Czech);
  • Total number of new voiceover artists that were chosen: 12;
  • Project volume: 196 phrases (14 for each language);
  • Project deadline: 6 weeks;
  • Recording of new takes to best match the desired reading style: for 3 out of 14 languages (performed for free).

Here are some examples of voice notifications in multiple languages.

Multilingual voiceovers can be a troublesome task. In addition to defining the task and exercising quality control over the project, you must listen to hundreds of demo recordings, establish contact with dozens of voiceover artists, and test selected performers. All of these tasks can steal dozens or even hundreds of hours from your life. We are ready to go to the trouble on your behalf and save your time — contact us today!

Kirill Dorokhov, CEO of Kerish Products:

"Our product provides voice notifications about the most significant actions completed by the application.

The objective was to localize the product for a European audience, including by providing recordings of voice notifications in 14 European languages.

Because it was important for us that the quality of the localization be high, it was necessary that the recordings be made by professional artists who are native speakers of these languages.

We asked Alconost, which offers a full range of localization services, to help us with these tasks.

I would like to point out that we were particularly pleased with the following:

  • Speakers were selected whose voices had similar timbre and intonation to the Russian original.
  • Several of the most suitable candidates were selected for each of the languages offered.
  • The level of professionalism of the speakers was so high that they found that the word order of certain phrases was not quite correct, and they decided to record several additional variations that they thought sounded better. In the end we decided to go with these suggestions.

The result surpassed all our expectations!

We would recommend Alconost to anyone who needs professionals in the field of voice acting."

Other success stories

We help companies take their products to the global market by localizing applications, games, websites, translating texts and making promo videos. We’d be happy to get a chance to work with you!

Request a quote

Озвучка на 14 языках для программы Kerish Doctor

Мы в Alconost записали мультиязычную озвучку для программы Kerish Doctor. Для выполнения проекта мы подобрали профессиональных дикторов — носителей 12 различных языков.

Программа Kerish Doctor предназначена для обслуживания Windows: она помогает предотвратить сбои ОС, исправить ошибки реестра, устранить потенциальные уязвимости и очистить систему от цифрового мусора. О некоторых своих действиях — например, о восстановлении файла или об обнаружении уязвимости — Kerish Doctor информирует пользователя голосовым уведомлением.

Клиент самостоятельно записал уведомления для русской и украинской версий программы. А запись голосовых уведомлений для остальных 14 языковых версий заказчик поручил нам.

Для английского и испанского языков клиент выбрал голоса из нашей базы дикторов, с которыми мы постоянно работаем для озвучки видеороликов и записи начиток. Для остальных 12 языков нам предстояло пополнить базу дюжиной новых дикторов.

Кстати, диктор — это не просто человек с микрофоном. Это профессиональный чтец или актёр озвучивания, носитель языка с поставленной дикцией, располагающий оборудованием и условиями для качественной звукозаписи.

Мы с энтузиазмом приступили к поиску дикторов. Сначала мы подобрали голоса, соответствующие пожеланиям клиента по тембру и манере говорения. Затем мы предоставили дикторские демо-записи на рецензирование нашим переводчикам-носителям языка, чтобы удостовериться, что дикторы говорят без акцента и не имеют проблем с произношением.

Предоставив нам тексты на всех 14 языках, клиент просил обратить внимание дикторов на корректность грамматики, полноту фраз и порядок слов в записываемых уведомлениях. Хотя вычитка текстов (пруфридинг) — отдельная услуга Alconost, мы охотно пошли навстречу клиенту и сделали её без увеличения бюджета проекта.

Сделав вычитку, для 4 языков из 14 мы предложили клиенту альтернативные варианты нескольких реплик — звучащие, на взгляд наших носителей языка, более естественно в контексте задачи. Клиенту было предоставлено несколько вариантов на выбор: запись с оригинальным текстом — и запись с текстом в нашей редакции.

Факты и цифры о проекте

  • Языки: 14 (английский, венгерский, датский, испанский, итальянский, немецкий, нидерландский, польский, португальский, словенский, турецкий, финский, французский, чешский);
  • подобрано новых дикторов: 12;
  • объём проекта: 196 реплик (по 14 на каждый язык);
  • сроки выполнения проекта: 6 недель;
  • запись новых дублей для наилучшего соответствия желаемой манере чтения: для 3 языков из 14 (сделано бесплатно).

Вот несколько примеров голосовых уведомлений на разных языках.

Мультиязычная озвучка — занятие хлопотное. Кроме постановки задачи и контроля качества выполнения, необходимо прослушать сотни демо-записей, наладить контакт с десятками дикторов и протестировать отобранных исполнителей. Всё это может украсть из вашей жизни десятки, а то и сотни часов. Мы готовы взять все хлопоты на себя и сэкономить ваше время — обращайтесь!

Кирилл Дорохов, генеральный менеджер Kerish Products:

«Наш продукт содержит голосовые уведомления о наиболее значимых действиях, произведённых приложением.

Задачей являлась локализация продукта для европейской аудитории, включая и озвучивание голосовых уведомлений на 14 европейских языках.

Поскольку важной составляющей для нас являлось высокое качество локализации, то необходимо было, чтобы озвучку осуществляли профессиональные дикторы — носители данных языков.

Для этого мы обратились в компанию Alconost, которая обладает полным спектром услуг по локализации.

Хотелось бы отметить, что именно порадовало:

  • Были подобраны дикторы с максимально схожим тембром и интонацией, как в российском оригинале.
  • Для каждого из языков предлагались несколько наиболее подходящих кандидатов.
  • Уровень профессионализма дикторов был настолько высок, что они нашли порядок слов в некоторых фразах не совсем корректным и записали несколько дополнительных вариаций, более удачных на их взгляд как носителей языка, которые в конечном счёте и были нами использованы.

Полученный результат превзошёл все наши ожидания!

Мы рекомендуем компанию Alconost всем, кому потребуются профессионалы в области озвучки».

Другие истории успеха

In other languages