Localizing the game “Punch Club” into Chinese and Polish

What if you need to translate a story-driven strategy game from English into Chinese, and you only have a week until the release date? Did you think that it is impossible? Yet we were able to do it.

The sensational game “Punch Club” puts you in the shoes of the manager of a street fighter. The developers decided to give the player the maximum freedom of action: the player chooses the fighting style that they learn, what to eat, and what to do for fun. Unlike fighting games, the “Punch Club” strategic simulator places quite a bit of attention on the storyline.

Screenshot from the game “Punch Club” (Russian version)

It was a particular pleasure to translate the texts: they were full of references to such popular films as "Fight Club" and "Terminator".

Screenshot from the game “Punch Club” (Russian version)

This indie game from the Russian startup studio Lazy Bear Games, whose publisher is tinyBuild, has been rapidly gaining popularity. It became a top selling game on Steam, and it was able to earn over a million dollars within ten days of release. Now “Punch Club” is picking up new audiences in different countries. Prior to cooperating with Alconost, the developers had already localized the game into seven languages, including English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, and Brazilian Portuguese.

CEO of tinyBuild Alex Nichiporchik noted: "We can say with certainty that we have been able to fully recoup the cost of localizing the game into Western European languages."

Growth in game installs after the release of the Portuguese version (shown in yellow on the graph):

Growth in game installs after the release of the Portuguese version (shown in yellow on the graph)

We must give credit to the developers: they completed a substantial amount of work in preparing the game for localization. All game texts were formatted in a table with comments broken down by character. It also included explanations of movie references and other important information. This file made the project much easier for the translators.

Alconost is no stranger to working under time pressure. We had a deadline of a week, which we were able to make.

Alex Nichiporchik, CEO of tinyBuild:

Alex Nichiporchik noted by way of justifying the decision to localize the game into Chinese: "China is a huge market.

We have already recouped the localization costs. Our first sales event after the completion of the localization project demonstrated that China is now one of our top markets for “Punch Club”.

In the space of two weeks we had just as many sales in China as we did in the US.


A few months later, tinyBuild returned to us in order to localize the game into Polish. This time it was not a rush project. We selected a translator for the project who specializes just in games. The codes that the client provided us in order to access the game in Steam proved to be particularly useful. This allowed the translator to play the game in English as he worked on the project.

Once the localization was finished, it was then time to perform the linguistic testing. The translator became so engrossed by the game texts and the challenge of adapting them to Polish culture that he proposed testing the texts in the game interface at no additional charge. During the course of testing you often find little problems that need to be fixed. This project was no exception.

Testing the localization in the game's interface (screenshot from the game “Punch Club”)

We polished the final product to a deep shine and sent tinyBuild a brief report about the results of our edits with screenshots of every correction. Done!

We would also be happy to help you with your localization project.

Other success stories

We help companies take their products to the global market by localizing applications, games, websites, translating texts and making promo videos. We’d be happy to get a chance to work with you!

Request a quote

Локализация игры Punch Club на китайский и польский языки

Что, если нужно творчески перевести сюжетную стратегическую игру с английского на китайский за неделю до релиза? Невозможно? А мы смогли.

Речь о нашумевшей игре Punch Club — это менеджер уличного бойца. Разработчики дали игроку максимальную свободу действий: он может сам решать, какой стиль боя изучать, чем питаться, как отдыхать. В отличие от файтингов, в стратегическом симуляторе Punch Club довольно много внимания уделено сюжету.

Скриншот из игры Punch Club (русская версия)

Тексты — отдельное удовольствие: одни только отсылки к популярным фильмам вроде «Бойцовского клуба» или «Терминатора» чего стоят.

Скриншот из игры Punch Club (русская версия)

Инди-игра от начинающей российской студии Lazy Bear Games, изданная tinyBuild, стремительно набрала популярность, вошла в топ продаж Steam и заработала больше миллиона долларов за десять дней после релиза. Теперь Punch Club покоряет все новые и новые аудитории в разных странах. До сотрудничества с Alconost разработчики уже перевели игру на 7 языков: английский, немецкий, французский, итальянский, испанский, японский и бразильский португальский.

«Мы можем с уверенностью сказать, что локализация игры на западноевропейские языки окупается», — говорит CEO tinyBuild Алекс Ничипорчик.

Рост инсталлов игры после выпуска португальской локализации (на графике — желтый цвет):

Рост инсталлов игры после выпуска португальской локализации (на графике — желтый цвет)

Нужно отдать должное разработчикам: они провели основательную работу по подготовке игры к локализации. Все игровые тексты оформлены в таблицу с комментариями по персонажам, пояснениями по отсылкам к фильмам и другой важной информацией. Переводчикам с таким файлом работать очень удобно.

Работать в условиях цейтнота нам в Alconost не привыкать. В отведенный срок — неделю — и в этот раз уложились.

Алекс Ничипорчик, CEO tinyBuild:

«В Китае огромный рынок, — объясняет решение локализовать игру на китайский Алекс Ничипорчик.

— Затраты на локализацию уже окупились — первая распродажа после внедрения локализации показывает, что Китай теперь в топах для Панч Клаба.

За последние 2 недели у нас столько же продаж в Китае, сколько в США».


Через несколько месяцев tinyBuild вернулись к нам для того, чтобы перевести игру на польский — теперь уже без спешки. Мы подобрали для проекта переводчика, который специализируется именно на играх. Пригодились нам и предоставленные клиентом коды для доступа к игре в Steam — переводчик играл в игру на английском в процессе работы.

После того, как локализация выполнена, приходит время обязательного лингвистического тестирования. Переводчик так вдохновился игровыми текстами и их адаптацией к польской культуре, что предложил протестировать тексты в интерфейсе игры бесплатно. В ходе такого тестирования часто находятся какие-то мелочи, которые стоит исправить — так было и в этот раз.

Тестирование локализации в интерфейсе игры (скриншот из игры Punch Club)

Шлифуем, полируем до блеска и отправляем tinyBuild краткий отчет по результатам правок со скриншотами для каждого исправления. Done!

Будем рады помочь с локализацией и вам.

Другие истории успеха

Мы помогаем компаниям выводить продукты на глобальный рынок: локализуем приложения, игры, сайты, переводим тексты на иностранные языки и делаем видеоролики. Мы бы хотели помогать и вам!

Сделать заказ

In other languages