A series of trailers about JIRA plugins

If your software has more than three buttons, you will surely have noticed how difficult it is to provide an overview of your product—let alone to describe its core functionality. It is really difficult to resist giving in to the temptation of meticulously describing all the details of a new feature that you have spent an entire month developing! But consider for a moment: you see the value of your innovative product because you know the product from the inside out. But what does it mean to a user who has only just heard about it?

The team here at Alconost can solve such challenges: we help developers tell the whole story about their products. We try to place the product in the user's world and to present a holistic picture of it. We try to show how it can solve pressing problems or simplify a user's workflow.

The three product trailers that we made about Teamlead products illustrate our approach. Teamlead develops plugins that extend the functionality of the popular JIRA bug tracker and project management system.

In November 2015 the guys at Teamlead contacted Alconost to order a video about their HelpDesk for JIRA plugin. The client was pleased with our work and entrusted us the project to create videos about two more plugins: CRM for JIRA and Calendar for JIRA.

Video about the HelpDesk for JIRA plugin

This plugin is used to provide technical support directly inside JIRA. Helpdesk for JIRA is convenient for all three parties: the customer, the technical support specialist, and the developer.

To illustrate the functionality of HelpDesk for JIRA, in the video we decided to focus on a specific use case for the plugin. We simulated a conjectural problem, and we showed the complete step-by-step procedure to solve the problem directly in the plugin interface. Thus, we demonstrated how the customer submits a ticket to the support specialist, and how the issue can be escalated from this person to the developer, and then how the answer moves back down the same chain to the customer.

We decided not to overload the video with minor details so that the viewer would not lose sight of the main points. This determined the visual style of the video: a clean background, real screenshots of the service, and conventional characters that did not attract too much attention to themselves.

We liked the plugin so much that we wrote a separate article on our blog about it. The team from Teamlead also liked the video, and we were immediately given the next project to create a video about the CRM for JIRA plugin.

Video about the CRM for JIRA plugin

This plugin allows sales managers to create contact databases directly in JIRA and to conduct the sales process and financing accounting directly from here.

We consulted with the customer, and we decided to make the video about CRM for JIRA in the same visual style as was chosen for the first trailer. We even chose the same voiceover artist who is a native speaker of English to provide the voiceover. However, there were also differences from the first project. For example, in the second trailer we decided to use face avatars instead of the conventional characters. Thanks to this, the interludes with the animated graphics could be better harmonized with scenes that demonstrated how the plugin works.

Screenshot from the CRM for JIRA video:

Screenshot from the CRM for JIRA video

The customer approved the result, and we immediately proceeded to the third video about the Calendar for JIRA plugin.

Video about the Calendar for JIRA plugin

This plugin helps companies schedule work in order to avoid backlogs by evenly distributing assignments among employees.

For the Calendar for JIRA video, we created a detailed character for the protagonist, whereas the minor characters were left as avatars. This represented a logical development in the series: after all, the first video featured only conventional characters, while the second had only avatars. The main character was given a detailed character animation, and the scenes with avatars were given textual speech bubbles. As a result, every scene has something that catches the attention of the viewer and keeps him or her from being distracted.

Screenshot from the Calendar for JIRA video:

Screenshot from the Calendar for JIRA video

The customer proposed two great ideas for the end of the video: place a little ball behind the main character and show icons that symbolize different professions. The customer thought of one of these ideas when the video was almost ready.

Usually substantial changes to the visual component of the video after the script has been approved increases the budget of the clip. But in this case the additional video clip did not cost the customer anything. We were happy to accommodate the Teamlead team. After all, the idea was quite excellent, and we have nothing but positive things to say about the experience of cooperating with the customer.

Customer input

The pace of work and the quality of the result largely depend on the customer. The guys from the Teamlead team did everything possible to ensure that the video projects went as smoothly and efficiently as possible:

  1. They configured a test environment for each plugin and filled it with dummy accounts, tasks, and data. Thanks to this, the screenshots featured in the videos correctly show how each plugin works.
  2. They provided rapid feedback about our work in progress. For example, we received a response to our rough draft of the HelpDesk for JIRA video on Christmas Eve. Thanks to this workflow, we did not have to delay work on the project even during the holidays.
  3. They provided extremely clear comments. Due to this we do not have to spend time on clarifying what the customer wanted, and we were able to make changes as quickly as possible.

Oksana Alekseenko, Teamlead Manager:

We are a small IT company that is really passionate about its products, so we were very glad to meet a team that was just as obsessed (in a positive sense) about their work. First of all, I would like to compliment our project manager at Alconost, Natasha. She is truly passionate about what she does, and she is also a positive and considerate person who is willing to really listen to the customer and take into account their comments and suggestions.

This was our first experience creating these types of video clips. We had almost no initial idea about what we wanted. It was especially pleasant that the guys at Alconost turned out to be professionals. The resulting videos were really quite delightful.

Other success stories

We help companies take their products to the global market by localizing applications, games, websites, translating texts and making promo videos. We’d be happy to get a chance to work with you!

Request a quote

Серия роликов-трейлеров о плагинах для JIRA

Если в вашем софте — больше трёх кнопок, вы наверняка замечали, как сложно описать продукт в целом, а не его функционал в частности. Действительно трудно отказаться от соблазна расписать в подробностях новую опцию, которую вы разрабатывали целый месяц! Но задумайтесь: это новшество ценно для вас, потому что вы знаете продукт изнутри. А что оно значит для пользователя, который впервые слышит о вашем продукте?

Мы в Alconost решаем именно такие задачи: помогаем разработчикам рассказать о своих продуктах в целом. Мы стараемся вписать продукт в мир пользователя, сформировать о нём целостное представление и показать, как он решит насущную проблему или упростит рабочую рутину.

Именно по такому принципу мы сделали три видеоролика-трейлера о продуктах компании Teamlead — плагинах, расширяющих функционал популярного баг-трекера и системы управления проектами JIRA.

В ноябре 2015 года ребята из Teamlead обратились в Alconost, чтобы заказать видеоролик о плагине HelpDesk for JIRA. Клиент остался доволен работой и доверил нам создание роликов ещё о двух плагинах:CRM for JIRA и Calendar for JIRA.

Ролик о плагине HelpDesk for JIRA

Плагин предназначен для организации работы техподдержки прямо в JIRA. HelpDesk for JIRA удобен и для клиента, и для специалиста техподдержки, и для разработчика.

Для наглядной демонстрации функционала HelpDesk for JIRA мы решили обыграть в ролике конкретную ситуацию использования плагина. Мы смоделировали условную проблему и прямо в интерфейсе плагина показали полную цепочку действий, пошагово ведущих к её решению. Так, мы продемонстрировали, как задача переходит от клиента к специалисту поддержки, от него — к разработчику, а затем — в обратном направлении.

Чтобы зритель не потерял нить, мы решили не перегружать видеоряд второстепенными деталями. Это определило визуальный стиль ролика: чистый фон, реальные скриншоты сервиса и условные персонажи, не притягивающие к себе чрезмерное внимание.

Нам так понравился плагин, что мы написали о нем отдельную статью в блоге. А команде Teamlead так понравился ролик, что мы сразу принялись за следующий — о плагине CRM for JIRA.

Ролик о плагине CRM for JIRA

Этот плагин позволяет менеджерам по продажам создать базу контактов прямо в JIRA и вести процесс продаж и учёт финансов здесь же.

Ролик о CRM for JIRA мы с клиентом решили сделать в визуальном стиле первого трейлера. Даже для озвучки был выбран тот же самый диктор-носитель английского. Но были и различия. Например, вместо условных персонажей во втором трейлере мы показали только лица-аватары. Благодаря этому эпизоды с анимированной графикой стали лучше гармонировать со сценами, демонстрирующими работу плагина.

Скриншот из ролика CRM for JIRA:

Скриншот из ролика CRM for JIRA

Клиент одобрил результат и мы сразу приступили к третьему ролику — о плагине Calendar for JIRA.

Ролик о плагине Calendar for JIRA

Этот плагин помогает планировать работу так, чтобы дела не наслаивались, а нагрузка между сотрудниками распределялась равномерно.

Для видео о Calendar for JIRA мы отрисовали детализированного персонажа — главного героя, а второстепенных героев обозначили аватарами. Это логически развило серию: ведь в первом ролике были только условные персонажи, а во втором — только аватары. У главного героя появилась детализированная персонажная анимация, а в сценах с аватарами — текстовые выноски. Благодаря этому в каждой сцене есть за что зацепиться взгляду: внимание зрителя не рассеивается.

Скриншот из ролика Calendar for JIRA:

Скриншот из ролика Calendar for JIRA

Для концовки ролика клиент предложил две отличные идеи: припрятать один мячик за спиной главного героя и показать пиктограммы, символизирующие профессии. Одна из идей появилась, когда ролик был уже почти готов.

Обычно существенные изменения в визуальной части после утверждения сценария увеличивают бюджет ролика. Но в данном случае дополнение видеоряда ничего не стоило клиенту. Мы были рады пойти команде Teamlead навстречу. Ведь идея была действительно отличной, а опыт совместной работы — исключительно позитивным.

Вклад клиента

Темп работы и качество результата во многом зависят от клиента. Ребята из команды Teamlead сделали всё возможное, чтобы работа над роликами шла быстро и продуктивно:

  1. Настроили тестовую среду для каждого плагина и заполнили её условными аккаунтами, задачами и данными. Благодаря этому скриншоты, показанные в роликах, корректно отображали специфику каждого плагина.
  2. Моментально комментировали промежуточные результаты. Например, отклик на черновую сборку ролика HelpDesk for JIRA мы получили в день перед Рождеством. Благодаря этому рабочий процесс на нашей стороне не останавливался даже в праздники.
  3. Формулировали замечания предельно ясно. Благодаря этому мы не тратили время на уточнения и вносили правки максимально быстро.

Оксана Алексеенко, менеджер Teamlead:

«Мы сами небольшая IT-компания, которая «болеет» своими продуктами, поэтому было очень радостно встретить таких же одержимых (в позитивном смысле) своей работой людей. В первую очередь это, конечно, относится к нашему менеджеру со стороны Alconost, Наташе. Она воистину фанат своего дела и при этом позитивный и тактичный человек, который готов реально слушать и учитывать замечания и пожелания заказчика.

Опыт создания таких роликов у нас был первый. Практически не было представления о том, что хотелось бы получить. Тем более приятно, что ребята из Alconost оказались профессионалами своего дела и получившиеся ролики, действительно, нас очень радуют».

Другие истории успеха

In other languages